Personal Introductions

Hi,

I’m Chris - the creator of this new forum for Catford, which soft-launched this evening (25th September).

I’m a software developer, and in my spare time I work on side-projects, like my online community for lending items within neighbourhoods.

Back in May 2016, I made a website - a community forum for my local area, Honor Oak and Forest Hill.

SE23.life grew into something I’m proud of. We have a membership in the thousands, 1200 visitors every day, a team of four great local moderators and 30,000 posts of wonderful community discussion, in just 18 months.

Two local shops have helped by “verifying” member profiles, an optional mark of trust that adds credibility to our reviews and debates.

Among our membership we’re pleased to have local shop keepers, councillors, policemen and women, train drivers, central government officials and a whole host of other residents with fascinating stories, careers and ideas for the area.

The forum has taken a life of its own, and it feels unstoppable.

I’ve been looking for neighbouring areas to branch out into, and I think Catford is the ideal spot for a new forum. It’s buzzing, changing at a frantic pace, and soon to host one of Lewisham’s most ambitious regeneration projects. It’s also the heart of Lewisham local government.

I’m looking for local tastemakers to help seed this forum with content which will set a positive, forward-looking tone for the site. I’ll then market the forum online and in the real world to help make it as buzzing and inclusive as possible.

Can’t wait to meet you :relaxed:

Do feel free to reply to this topic and introduce yourself.